In sickness, the Lord is with me.

I was confined last Thursday night to Monday afternoon because I decided to have my nasal polyps removed.

Nasal polyps are common, noncancerous, teardrop-shaped growths that form in the nose or sinuses, usually around the area where the sinuses open into the nasal cavity. Mature nasal polyps look like seedless, peeled grapes. (Source)

I noticed that I have colds most of the time and I get allergies easily. My doctor suggested to undergo an operation since he is in doubt that nasal sprays and any oral intake of medicine can no longer cure or shrink the nasal polyps in both nostrils. I actually had to think about it first over and over before saying yes because it is a major operation and I have to inform my employer regarding this. 

Luckily, my employer granted the medical leave that I requested for two weeks. 

The week before my scheduled operation, I was nervous. I kept on praying that everything would go well and would not have any complications during and after the procedure. 

Surely, God heard my prayers. I believe that throughout this situation, He is with me.


The procedure took 2 hours and I had to stay in the recovery room for another 3 hours. I was kind of feeling high because of the general anesthesia. I was groggy for about three days and have lost my appetite. My physician said that what I was feeling are normal.

Monday came, the doctor advised me that I can be discharged from the hospital and have a complete rest at home. The hospital bill costs me 76k+ pesos. But since I have Philhealth and HMO, I only paid 30 pesos. WOW! That’s a big difference! And if it weren’t from the government benefits that I am getting I’d probably not be able to have done this procedure.

Currently, I am feeling okay. Headaches come on mid-day but still manageable using pain relievers. I can finally breathe easily.

In this experience, I realize to give time to myself especially if it concens my health. As a single mom, I always prioritize her needs first more than anything. But sometimes, it’s okay for the moms to think about ourselves first and be healthy for our kids. If we want to live longer and be physically present in all their undertakings, we have to eat wisely and have ourselves checked whenever we feel ill. 

This experience is a lesson learned for me. Also, another reason to witness that the Lord is a great healer and provider.

Psalm 55:22
Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you…

Leave a Reply

